Bournehall Primary School

Inspiring a Love of Learning


Bournehall Avenue, Bushey, Hertfordshire WD23 3AX

020 8950 4438


Reception Class

In our Reception Class we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS) 

Development Matters

click on the boxes below for more information

In Reception we use 'Development Matters' as the framework for the delivery of the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum.

The four principles on which this curriculum  is based are:

UNIQUE CHILD - Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

POSITIVE RELATIONSHIPS - Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.

ENABLING ENVIRONMENTS - Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and carers.

LEARNING AND DEVELOPMENT - Children develop and learn in different ways. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

There are 7 Areas of Learning

Prime areas are fundamental, work together, and are move through to
support development in all other areas.
• Personal, Social and Emotional Development
• Communication and Language
• Physical Development

Specific areas include essential skills and knowledge for children to participate successfully in society.
• Literacy
• Mathematics
• Understanding the World
• Expressive Arts and Design



"We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act but a habit." — Will Durant

Our curriculum is the means by which we achieve our objective of educating children in the knowledge, skills, understanding and behaviours that they will need for their future lives. Its breadth is ‘driven’ by our four curriculum drivers (informed by our values, cultural capital), what we teach and our ambitions for our children.

It includes not only the statutory requirements of the National Curriculum, but also the broad range of extra-curricular activities that the school organises to enrich the children's experience (the wider curriculum) and the 'personal curriculum' (the social rules, attitudes and values which children learn from the way in which they are respected and cared for, the behaviours expected of them and those modelled by adults in school).

Years 1 to 6

The Chris Quigley Essentials Curriculum forms the  framework for National Curriculum subjects. 

We define learning as 'a change to long-term memory' 

The aims of this curriculum ‘are to ensure that our pupils experience a wide breadth of study and have, by the end of each key stage, long-term memory of an ambitious body of procedural and semantic knowledge.’  (Chris Quigley) 

click on the boxes below for more information

From Years 1 to 6, we use the Chris Quigley 'Essentials' Curriculum as our framework for the delivery of the  National Curriculum subjects. 

 The basic principles of this curriculum are that:

 ‘Learning is a change to long-term memory, ‘  and that the aims, ‘ are to ensure that our pupils experience a wide breadth of study and have, by the end of each key stage, long-term memory of an ambitious body of procedural and semantic knowledge.’  (Chris Quigley)

We distinguish between subject topics and threshold concepts. Subject topics are meshed into meaningful schema through threshold concepts – with the same concepts being explored in a wide breadth of topics. In this way, children return to the same concepts over and over again - gradually building understanding of them.

There are three milestones for each threshold concept. Each of these includes the knowledge pupils that need to understand the threshold concepts. Within each subject children are given opportunities to show their understanding of the threshold concepts.

Children are helped to build strong schemas relating each topic to those previously studied  through knowledge webs, shared as knowledge organisers at the beginning of every topic and referred to throughout.

Through each milestone children progress through three cognitive domains- BASIC, ADVANCING AND DEEP. We aim for children to have ’advancing’ understanding (sustained mastery) by the end of a milestone, with some children having greater depth of understanding – ‘deep’ stage.

In recent years there have been great advances in the field of cognitive science and we now know that time is needed for deep learning to take place, rushing through curriculum content results in cognitive overload which limits learning and that basics need to be mastered before children deepen their understanding or become creative thinkers. This takes time – so each milestone takes two years.